Film

Review: Django Unchained

“I think we all think the bags was a nice idea. But, not pointing any fingers, they could of been done better. So how bout, no bags this time, but next time, we do the bags right, and then go full regalia.” – Bag Head #2

I viewed Tarantino’s latest creation, Django Unchained, on Friday, my birthday, with my mother and grandmother. I snuck in a bag of cheerios, because watching movies in the theater on an empty stomach makes me sick, as does starting my day off with an Icee and popcorn. They took a while to eat since I didn’t have any milk to chase them down, but it was a good decision and one I’m sure to make again.

Calvin Candie

Oh, the movie. So this isn’t anything new for Tarantino, as he takes a genre that as a whole isn’t particularly well-respected and attempts to create a masterpiece. Again, he’s dealing with a revenge plot, just as he did in Inglorious Basterds, which is almost a companion piece. This time, it’s not Hitler he’s after. Slave owners and other outlaws are the target of this revisionist western (the spaghetti elements are there, but revisionist is a more accurate tag). Christoph Waltz plays essentially the same character as in Basterds, and masterfully, although he’s a good guy this time. My mom was convinced that he stole the show, and I too would say he was my favorite part. Waltz teams up with Jamie Foxx’s Django, who he develops into a killing prodigy, as they roam the country as bounty hunters.

Great film. This is more of an actor’s movie than anything. Leonardo DiCaprio gives one of his finer performances, which is really saying something. I’m generally not a fan of Jamie Foxx, but he was excellent in Django as he does his best Clint. Samuel L. Jackson takes over the screen whenever he needs to do so, there are some fun cameos, and all of the jokes hit the nail on the head. I’d also like to note that I’m a huge Tarantino fan, but I find that most of his movies drag at some point or another. It wasn’t the case here.

Django Unchained Jamie Foxx

Alas, I’ve seen Tarantino make this film before. It’s very similar to Basterds. And a lot of his other stuff. So that does bring the film down a notch. Sorry. Nevertheless, it’s an enjoyable film that doesn’t overstay its welcome, is quotable, full of memorable acting performances and well-done.

Django Unchained Rating

4 stars

One thought on “Review: Django Unchained

  1. Pingback: 2013 Oscar Predictions | Reverie Control

Comments are closed.