Best of 2012 Lists / Music

15 Best Music Videos of 2012

Whenever I have the good fortune to hijack a friend’s laptop and show them one of these links, they remark that they thought music videos were dead. The rise of Jersey Shore has yet to kill off music videos. In fact, we get several great ones every year. I do a lot of digging every year for them, and here’s the best that 2012 had to offer.

15. “Polaroyced” by Mouse on Mars
Ask me what I want from life, and I’ll tell you it’s that one day, it’ll be this gold.

14. “Oh” by FIDLAR

13. “So Many Details” by Toro y Moi
This one is from his upcoming 2013 album, Anything in Return. This video has me excited to hear it.

12. “Hollywood Forever Cemetery Sings” by Father John Misty

11. “Bad Girls” by M.I.A.

10. “Get By” by Delta Heavy
Such a memorable video. Shouts to Kellen for showing this to me.

9. “Grown Up” by Danny Brown

8. “Give It Away” by Andrew Bird
So cute. And what else would you expect from Andrew Bird?

7 and 6. “Oblivion” and “Genesis” by Grimes
I couldn’t choose between these two fantastic videos, so Grimes has made the list. Sue me. She’s had a huge year.


5. “C.L.U.B.” by MNDR
No bias here, my friend Eli created a truly unique and progressive video.
http://mndr.omusicawards.com/
4. “Gangnam Style” by PSY

3. “Until The Quiet Comes” by Flying Lotus
Music that’s matched expertly by its companion short film which is so open to interpretation.

2. “The Symbol” by Action Bronson
The most ceaselessly hilarious video I’ve seen all year by a large margin.

1. “Hey Jane” by Spiritualized

5 thoughts on “15 Best Music Videos of 2012

  1. I truly love your website.. Excellent colors & theme.

    Did you develop this web site yourself? Please reply back as
    I’m planning to create my own personal blog and would love to know where you got this from or just what the theme is named. Thanks!

    • The theme is called Sight. It’s a WordPress theme, and they created the blogging tool that I used to make the site. I’m glad you like it, please let me know if you do create your own personal blog. I’d love to check it out.

  2. Pingback: 25 Best Songs of 2012 | Reverie Control

  3. I simply want to tell you that I’m new to weblog and truly savored this web-site. Likely I’m planning to bookmark your blog post . You certainly have good articles. Kudos for sharing with us your website.

Comments are closed.