Film

Reblog: Scalzi Oscar Predictions

Dylan Sognalian:

My mad dash to catch up on the year in film has fallen a bit short of Oscar Prediction day. However, John Scalzi has my back with this article. The list of major awards is here, and the writing is interesting at the very least, and overall intelligent as well.

I can’t make my own picks with any confidence at this point, but I do have my predictions. I expect Daniel Day Lewis to pull out the Best Actor award (maybe with a bit of bias). Also, with best supporting actor so up in the air, I’m going to take Philip Seymour Hoffman. Why not?

Originally posted on Whatever:

Every year when the Academy Award nominations are announced, I reach back into my store of knowledge as a former full time film critic (and current, continuing film enthusiast) and give my immediate thoughts on the nominations for the six major Oscar categories, and which, off the top of my head, I think are likely to walk off with the statuette at the actual ceremony. Ready? Off we go.

BEST PICTURE:

Argo
Amour
Beasts of the Southern Wild
Django Unchained
Life of Pi
Les Miserables
Lincoln
Silver Linings Playbook
Zero Dark Thirty

A few years ago the Academy instituted new rules that allowed more than five films a year to be nominated for Best Picture. I generally think it’s a nice gesture that allows the Academy to make a nod toward inclusiveness and is handy discussion fodder for the several weeks until the ceremony. As a practical matter, however, films…

View original 1,705 more words

One thought on “Reblog: Scalzi Oscar Predictions

  1. Pingback: 2013 Oscar Predictions | Reverie Control

Comments are closed.